19 Dec Do You Need An Attorney If You’ve Been In an Accident?
After almost 2 decades of treating patients that have been injured in car accidents, I see many with similar injuries and, also hear many of the same questions. One of the most common questions I get is, ‘do I need an attorney if I’ve been in a car accident?’
This is a really good question and to answer it an understanding of insurance laws will help in answering that question.
Utah is a ‘no fault’ state, when it comes to car accident laws. What this means is that it doesn’t matter whose fault the accident is YOUR insurance covers your medical bills up the insurance limits you carry. The part of your insurance policy that pays your medical bills is calledx ‘personal injury protection’ or PIP. The PIP minimum in the state of Utah is $3,000. Meaning everyone in the state of Utah that has car insurance has a minimum $3,000 that can go toward any medical bills. This includes chiropractic, physical therapy, ER even massage.
What happens if the accident is NOT your fault and you have used all the $3,000 PIP available?
That is where an attorney comes in. Once you have accrued $3,000 or more in medical bills you are now eligible to be compensated for your injuries including pain and suffering and to make sure all your other medical bills get paid for.
I always counsel my patients that if they go over the $3,000 mark in bills or if they other insurance company is badgering them over anything then they should consult with an attorney.
I have found that personal injury attorney’s get a bad rap! Most are great people working hard to make sure their clients get made whole after an accident. I work with some fantastic personal injury attorney’s that will make sure you get personal care and attention.
One last note…hiring a personal injury attorney will not cost you money out of your pocket. These attorney’s only get paid based upon what they collect from the insurance company. So, it is in their best interest to make sure you get a fair compensation, since that is how they get paid. In fact, if they do not recover any money for you then you will not owe them a dime.
If you have any questions about hiring a personal injury attorney after a car accident, please don’t hesitate to call our office 801-492-9300. We can help you get in touch with a reputable attorney.
If you or someone you know has recently been in a car accident the get into our office ASAP to get any injuries documented. We will also do a FREE 60m massage to all new patients that have recently been in an auto accident. Call 801-492-9300 to schedule.